Posted by: Josephine Zagbuor | October 8, 2008

Retailers and Ethics

I love grilled fish.

When I say grilled fish I mean fish with the bones still intact not the boneless types usually found in American restaurants.

Aurelia, my boyfriend’s cousin also loves grilled fish. Last year December we spent the holidays together in her sister’s house in South Carolina. Her sister grilled some fish. Oh we all went for it immediately. Just as Aurelia bit into the fish someone asked, do you know where the fish originated from? Aurelia said I hope it’s not from China. Another person said Don’t Ask Don’t Tell.

I just shrug my shoulders and kept eating my fish. I believe in the ‘don’t ask don’t tell’ phrase. As long as I don’t know where food is coming from, I will eat without any problems. But when I know, it affects my appetite.

Why am I yapping on about my love for grilled fish? I recently read an article Lisa Abraham of the Akron Beacon Journal wrote about the new law called Country-of-origin-law popularly called COOL. It went into effect on September 30. The law mandates all retail stores to put the country of origin of all meat and fresh vegetables and nuts in their stores. That means people will be able to tell where meat and fresh foods come from. It will be up to them to decide whether they want to buy or not. Isn’t that cool!

Slash food indicated that congress took the law serious after the recent outbreak of food related diseases from China. Congress finally passed it after six long years. In spite of the big bucks giant stores like Walmart put in to stop it from happening. Tell you what, USDA is very serious about the law and will go after the ass of any company which doesn’t comply.

The stores have up to six months to put up the labels. Since I saw Lisa’s article, I have been looking in the stores to see if they’re complying. Most of the stores in the Kent area have labels. Giant Eagle and Save-A-Lot which I visited at the weekend have their labels up.

But, can we trust our local retail stores to do the right thing? In spite of the complex coding related to importing food, it is up to the retail stores to do the right thing. They can decide to put whatever labels they think will appeal to consumers.

Patriotism over cost

Ideally, most Americans talk about consuming only food and products from the United States. That sure is a great idea. It will keep the local farmers in business and put out competitors like China and Mexico.

But with what is happening in Wall Street, all of us on Main Street are beginning to sound like my mother when the family was going through a difficult financial period. She will say, think cheap and affordable prizes always. Doesn’t that sound like the slogan of a monster store? ‘Low Prizes Always.’ Ha ha! So Americans will be torn between been patriotic and saving money.

There is a $1000 fine for any store which violates the law. Will it be the basis for stores to be ethical?

In the retail business, one of the key components is building a relationship of trust with your customers. Will the stores choose the bottom line over trust? That will spell doom for any retail business.

Cool is a fine example of law clashing with ethics. Most socially irresponsible companies make decisions based on the fear of the law not because it’s the right thing to do. Those retail stores who decide behind the doors to do whatever they want should reexamine their consciences. Your customers deserve the truth.

Do the right thing!

Photo courtesy: USDA and Hanayuki Japaneses restaurant


Responses

  1. I found this post very interesting. I didn’t realize that there was a law that required retailers to put the country of origin on food. I think that is great and I know my dad will be pleased. He’s one of those, “BUY AMERICAN!” kind of guys. Well, he works at Ford so that’s probably why he’s become that way.

    I actually came across some technology that has to do with this topic. I was doing a paper recently on Retail Technology and learned about all the great things RFID tags can do for retailers and customers. One that stood out to me was that products tagged with RFID technology can provide tons of information to consumers. For example, if the customer was to scan wines, they could receive an encyclopedia of information about where the grapes were grown and vitaculture history. They have also made a traceability system for beef using RFID tags. I think this will be a easy way for retailers to comply with the law and to ensure customers of where their food is coming from.

  2. I find this article extremely interesting. Given the fact that I am the same way with my food. If my mother makes a new recipe for dinner and I ask what is in it, she replies, “Oh just try it!” Most likely because if I know what is in it, I will put it in my mind that I do not like her new recipe before I even try it.
    I also find the new COOL law intriguing. Since I have not known about the law I have yet to look for the signs in stores, however I will begin next time I visit a grocery store.
    I also agree that many American’s want to support the American farmers and put out the competitors. However given the circumstances many people must buy what they can afford.
    However, I do feel as if some stores could be ashamed of where they get their meat and fish products from, therefore they would not follow the law. If it is a company with plenty of money then what is a $1000 fine anyway? A possibility for a company such as this would most likely continue to purchase their meat and fish from the same distributer and simply not put a sign up because their profits are sky high, but if people knew where their products were from they could drop their sales.
    Hopefully most all companies will be willing to follow this new law, because I know for sure I want to know exactly what I am buying!

  3. Reading about what the government is doing about the origin of food and the consumers right to know where the food they consume comes from has really opened my eyes to the type of food I am eating. I normally try to eat organic as much as possible because of all the chemicals that are used to grow our food and with the new regulation it will definitely be easier for me to continue to be organic.

    As a person who has lived abroad I understand the importance of eating foods that will react to your body system well. Knowing countries that have had problems with bacteria and illness will make people more conscience about what is being contributed to their body and just be more aware in general.

  4. I really enjoyed reading this post. Until reading this, I had absolutely no idea there were laws on letting consumers be aware of where the food we ate came from. I have always been someone to just purchase the food I wanted and eat it without ever really paying attention to where it came from. Now knowing that there are laws for this, I will always look to see where it came from. I think us people as consumers should definately have the right to know especially if there is some sort of outbreak of disease on certain foods. I know I wouldn’t want to eat food if it had been known to have bacteria in it or from the area it may have come from. I think these laws are very ethical and I think most Americans would really like these new laws. Now if only we knew for sure whether or not the stores we putting the correct and 100% honest label on the food’s packaging. I guess this is where a lot of people would just have to “go with their gut.” Would there really be any way people would know if the labels were completely true? Can government officials track this and make sure the stores are being honest to us consumers?

  5. I found this post very interesting. I am familiar with COO laws, but only regarding the fashion industry because it is what I’m studying. I have noticed the labels in grocery stores in my hometown telling consumers where the food has been imported from. I understand that patriotism and that fear of the unknown is a factor that would keep us Americans from eating food originating from other countries. But I also understand the importance with sharing goods with other countries to boost both of our economies. Avoiding foods from other countries, for any other reason than a fear of illness, is kind of silly in my opinion. I also find it important for the government to enforce the fines and rules to retailers who do not comply with the new COO laws. Consumers have the right to know what they are eating.

  6. I think that the COOL law is a great idea. For years now the apparel industry has been required by law to put the country of origin tags on all garments. Why not appy this to our food? I mean, unlike clothing, we consume food. It makes sense to know exactly what we are putting in our bodies. I don’t know how this will affect consumer buying habits in the grocery store. Although the country of origin tag is clearly displayed, most consumers don’t even check to see where their garment was manufactured, let alone let it influence their decision to buy the garment. I think that many Americans won’t let the country of origin sticker on their groceries determine whether or not they buy the product. Also, many people are stuck on their favorite foods, they won’t let something like where it was produced stop them from eating it. Only those truly committed to supporting American made products will change their buying habits.


Leave a comment

Categories